Two Hearted Clone America IPA - Brew 5

https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product/two-hearted-american-ipa/

Brew number 5

Cambden

I treated my water with 1/4 teaspoon of Sodium Metabisulphite (Campden)

Mash

https://biabcalculator.com/

Strike Water: 26 litres for a 19 litre batch size

Strike temp: 70 degrees

Mash temp: hit 66 degrees

Length: 45mins

pot

Christmas is approachine so Rudolph is watching!

Mash Out

Out temp: 77 degrees

Out time: 10 mins

After some research I’ve decided to skip this step and have left the mash in for 10 minutes longer.

Hoisting Brew Bag and Drain

Target Original Gravity: 1.063

After letting the wort cool to ambient I got: approx 1.060

Not sure how much wort in litres.

Boil

This was an interesting afternoon

  • 5 mins - ran out of gas
  • left for 1 hour
  • 10 mins - had to do family stuff
  • left 1.5 hours

75 mins boil time

  • 45 mins - 34g centennial
  • 30 mins - 34g centennial

Leave to cool overnight

Ferment

21st Nov 2021.

Temp of wort in the morning was 11 degrees.

Hit 19 litres (just with some siving)

24th nov (72 hours after putting in) it has finally started bubbling consistently. Apparently this is not unusual and the yeast can be a slow starter.

Day 7 - dry hop 100 g centennial

Bottle / Condition

After just under 3 weeks I’m bottling for the first time

Final gravity was approx 1.010

https://www.brewersfriend.com/beer-priming-calculator/

I’m going for 2.2 volumes of CO2, so 102g of sugar dissolved.

1 week after bottling I thought I’d give the beer a try. 18th December I tried it (day 2 of isolation with covid) and the beer is fantastic.

Super impressed with it!

This is the best beer I have brewed so far, and lovely to have in a bottle, so can drink straight out of the fridge.

Avatar photo Dave is a home brewer! TwitterTweet

Interactions