Own Recipe - Brew 12

Brewfather.app is the software I’m trialling to help me make recipes and keep stock of ingredients.

SMaSH

Maris Otter malt from longman

SafLager W-34/70 for about £5 each. more info on brewuk essentially a popular lager yeast.

Recipes

https://recipes.brewuk.co.uk/view-recipe/321 - includes some crystal. About 90g of hops. Vienna Lager.

https://recipes.brewuk.co.uk/view-recipe/54 75% Maris. 60g hops. Vienna Lager.

https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product/rustic-german-lager-kellerpils/ German lager. 28g hops (but needs more to hit IBU). 2 weeks ferment at 15. 5 weeks lager at 2.

Mash

I’ve got a 30 litre fermenter bucket so lets max it out

34 litres of strike water

It takes me time to get everything setup, so I’m happy to brew as much as possible. Even if I have to throw it away.

Aim for 4.5% lager

4.7kg for 5% at 19litres hitting OG of 1051

4.5kg for 4.8% at 22litres hitting og of 1046, which is 204g per litre

I want 30litres so 6.1kg. Call it 6kg as I want less ABV.

Will aim for mash at 66 and 75mins.

My OG at ambient temp is: 1044 which is almost perfect as I wanted 1046 for 30 litres. Will see how much I’ve actually got.

efficiency

pot

Boil

Hops - amercian lager only has 27g

Some others has 60, 15, 5… 94g with dry hop day 5

Some have 60g.. half at boil, half at flame out. 40g is delicate hop 30g too - half up front, half at flame out

boil time: 60

target - intense aroma challenger - british ales and lagers columbus - american ipa first gold - my own crop. british. multiple uses

beginning of the boil for bitterness end of boil for aroma

  • 10 first gold at 60
  • 15 first gold at 30
  • 25 challenger at 0

pot

Ferment

Went into fermenter on the 25th of April. I pitched 2 packets of the W34/70 lager yeast. After a day or two it was bubbling very nicely. 6 days later and it is still fermenting well.

Bottle and Keg

https://www.hopsteiner.com/co2-calculator/ I am aiming high for carbonation of 3.2 CO2 volume.

So for 30litres, I need 265g of sugar

15th May bottle and put into keg. Just under 3 weeks in fermenter

Tasted it and it is a bit sweet, but drinkable. Needs time

22nd May the bottles are going outside to condition.

Avatar photo Dave is a home brewer! TwitterTweet

Interactions