Westy 12 - Brew 14

My recipe is an amalgemation of

pot

pot

pot

and

https://recipe.brewfather.app/9v0Aj0eeNV7PWXyi550SgjKI2Pln3C

and thanks to Richard for the malt ratios below

Mash

Aiming for about a 19 litre batch

  • 65% Dingemans Pilsner malt (5kg)
  • 13% Weyermann Munich (1kg)
  • 5% Dingemans Special B (0.4kg)
  • 4% Weyermann Caramunich (0.3kg)
  • 3% Dingemans Wheat Malt (0.25kg)
  • 3% Bestmalz Melanoidin (0.2kg)

Temperatures

  • 67 for 75 mins (went down to 62)
  • at 25 minutes bring to 73 degrees

Boil

90 minute boil

  • 60 minutes hops bittering - using Target 20g (as that is all I have)
  • 30 mins - Columbus 20g (as have that as well)
  • 0 (should have been 15) mins - Columbus 20g

7% Dark Candi Sugar (0.5kg) added at 10 minutes

Starter

The WLP530 from White Labs suggest for beers > 1065 I should have 2l of starter for 20l. I’m doing that but only have about 24 hours really, but I figure this is better than nothing, and wont stress the yeast as much.

Am using 200g of DME for 2litres of starter. Boiled up for 15 minutes, cooled to room, then pitched. 20 -26 degrees is optimum fermenting temps.

Ferment

Allowed to cool overnight.

OG is: Was aiming for 1090 and got 1065?

Final amount of wort is: Was aiming for 19litres and ended up with 26L + 2L for yeast starter and some extra DME and Sugar

Added 400g of DME and 700g of Sugar to try and up the gravity.

pot

11th July update. After 7 weeks in the fermenter… I found that my overflow pot tasted horrible and had gone off. Vinegar taste horribleness that wouldn’t go out my mouth for 20 minutes.

So never put beer into a pot to ferment?

17th July - it is still fermenting, but I’m putting in bottles anyway.

FG is 1015

aiming for a 2.7CO2 vol

https://www.hopsteiner.com/co2-calculator/

So 147g of sugar

5 months later

This is one of my favourite beers to drink! It is a bit cloudy, but like a dessert in a glass. Beautiful. And very strong.

1 year later

By far the best beer I’ve brewed!!! Only 3 bottles left.. time to make more more :-)

Avatar photo Dave is a home brewer! TwitterTweet

Interactions